Day 1 of Bootcamp!

Today was the start of Best Body Bootcamp 2. Yesterday, I went through my nifty binder I made of the plan and all the workouts to prepare for today. I made sure my stability ball was full of air and set out my weights. I was anxious to start! I even got my lunch and snacks together last night.

This morning I had to be leave earlier than normal, so I had an early breakfast of oatmeal and a bottle of water. The lunch and snacks I put together last night? I left them on the counter, all neatly packed in my lunch bag. UGH. This meant then a less than stellar lunch as I was on the road after my morning ran longer than expected. The rest of the day, I’ve done very well. I’ve been drinking plenty of water and had a snack of avocado slices when I got home. After my snack, it was time to get in my first workout of the bootcamp. I was ready to start, can you tell?

 

bootcamp day 1 before

 

I did cardio first, taking the lead from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers. She is doing the bootcamp also and I just happened to notice her post before I started. She gave her version of today’s cardio and I changed it up a little for me. I’ve never done a a 60/60 HIIT (high-intensity interval training) workout before but I loved it. It kicked my butt. My 20 minutes consisted of:

Minutes 0-5………3.0 pace………8.0 incline

Minutes 5-15……Alternate 60 seconds 6.0 pace and 60 seconds 4.0 pace………1.0 incline

Minutes 15-20……3.0 pace………4.0 incline

I was super sweaty when I was done and it really got my heart rate up. I am pretty proud of myself. Can you tell?

 

bootcamp day 1 after BJPG

bootcamp day 1 treadmill

 

After the cardio portion it was time to work the upper body, 3 sets of supersets. Loved it. It’s been a long time since I’ve done any type of weight workout, but I do enjoy it. And in the past, my arms have always responded well to weights. When I work out and get the results I want, my shoulders are my favorite. Hoping to like my shoulders again at the end of the 8 weeks! I am very pleased with how the first day of working out went.

 

bootcamp day 1 after

 

I am trying to decide if I want to do tomorrow’s workout in the morning or in the afternoon. I would love to do it in the morning, so we’ll see if I can make that happen.

Part of the bootcamp is to focus on 2 goals for the week, or duration of the bootcamp. They can change throughout, and I don’t know yet if mine will change. To start, my 2 goals are drink 64 oz. of water daily, and to plan my meals. I always do better when I plan ahead (unless I forget my packed lunch on the counter!).

I am really glad I decided to be a part of this and I will do my best to give it my all for the 8 weeks. Everything works together. The more I workout, the more mindful I tend to be of my eating. And with my half-marathon training starting no later than mid-August, I am determined to make some positive changes, and continue to be #fitfluential.

If you’ve taken park in a bootcamp before, whether a long-distance challenge such as this or through a gym, what was your favorite part of it?

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Best Body Bootcamp, cardio, fitfluential, weights, workout and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great work on the first workout! Hope day 2 goes well for you too. I bet the 8 weeks will bring great changes for you. :)

  2. Who hasn’t gone to all the trouble of making lunch only to leave it at home…………..lol
    I think you are amazing for doing bootcamp…………..
    http://jo-annemotherandnanna.blogspot.com.au/

  3. Great job girl. Man I got tired looking at that workout!!

  4. I have left my lunch on the counter or in the fridge many times. I hate when I do that. haha! Great job on your workout! I hadn’t seen Julie’s post before my workout since this crazy lady right here wakes up between 5 and 6 to go workout, so I was done by 7:30 (this morning my wake up call was around 6.) I did love her HIIT workout and think I may try something like that next time!

    My upper body is my weakest but I’m hoping to fix that with this bootcamp

