I’ve been bitten…

…by the racing bug. Since signing up for the Rock ‘N Roll Half Marathon coming up in just 2 weeks from tomorrow, I’ve been doing alot of walking and running. Last week, I did my first “official” 5K, getting a shirt and race bib and all. I am BEYOND excited about the RNR Half Marathon, it’s just about all I can think about.

Last week I came super close to signing up for the Gasparilla Distance Classic Race weekend in Tampa in March. There was a promotion at Sports Authority, if you spend $85 in Nike running gear, you get free registration for certain events. I knew it would be going on this week as well, so I decided to think about it. Today, after our 11-mile training walk which went FANTASTIC, I decided I would splurge a little and buy some new running gear and get that free registration for the 8K on Sunday March 4. I bought a pair of super cool pants, a pair of shorts, a super light top, and a nifty water belt. I am all set and I will look fantastic doing it!

Super cool event shirt I got for registering for the 8K!

I am so excited about taking the time for myself and making the commitment to do these races. I certainly won’t be the fastest or the best, but I will be out there doing it and giving it MY best shot. I am extremely proud of myself for doing this. I CAN DO IT!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in commitment, race, running, walking. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I’ve been bitten….

Comments are closed.

