Things I learned from my first half-marathon…

  • No matter how cold it is outside, you will wait outside in the dark and in the wind for it to start.
  • No matter how early you have to get up, you will do it and be excited.
  • You can never have too many pockets for stuff to carry – GuGel, tissues, gloves after you take them off, headphones…. If only I could find a wasitpack that does not ride up and irritate me more than it helps me.
  • Gloves are a must on a cold day.
  • Having a GPS watch is a must. I am still loving my Garmin Forerunner 110 and don’t know how I went so long without it.
  • You will think of everything under the sun while you are running. No matter what you are worried about or stressed over,you know it will all work out because you are strong enough to run a half-marathon.
  • You will laugh and cry and everything in between.
  • You will wonder why you waited so long to take part in such an event.
  • You will be amazed at your strength and perserverance and your motivation to keep moving.
  • You will take in the beautiful scenery as you never have before.
  • The endorphins will stay with you well into the next day.
  • No matter how hard it was to cross that finish line, you will already be thinking about your next half-marathon the minute you finish.
  • It doesn’t matter if you are a pretty runner. You are doing it. Enough said.
  • No matter how much you hurt or how cold you are, you will feel more alive than you ever have.
  • Seeing the faces of loved ones will be part of your memory forever.
  • You will wake up the next morning and the first thing you will think is “I ran a half-marathon yesterday!”.
  • It doesn’t matter how fast you run or what place you come in. It will only matter than you did it.

 

 

 

 

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this list! Of course I thought of phoebe when you said that you don’t have to run “pretty”. Do you remember that episode?

