April Goals

Today is April 1st and all jokes aside, I am setting a few goals for myself. The start of a new month brings with the opportunity for a fresh start. I am all about fresh starts.

Run at least 3 days a week.  This seems like a goal I should not have to regularly set, but when my weeks are busy this is a challenge for me. With this goal, I can do two runs over the weekend and one during the week. Anything over that will be a bonus.

Try one new recipe a week.  This will be a challenge. We get in such a routine with meals, whether it’s dinner for both of us, or lunch for myself. But I am always coming across recipes that look so yummy and then I never try them. If I can do one a week this month, it will make me happy.

Keep myself a priority.  This, too, is a hard one. If I am busy, anything for myself flies out the window as it’s the easiest thing to do away with. I fall into that trap too easily and then it’s hard to snap out of it. So, I must do my best to keep myself at the top of the list and learn to manage everything else around it.

Run a 5K event this month.    I would love to do the Iron Girl 5K in Clearwater. It will be a  great route, one that I’ve done on my own. The scenery is beautiful and the causeway will kick my butt.

Get back on track with tracking. This is something that should be second-nature to me and I should just do it without thinking about it. It, too, seems to go away when I am busy. No doubt about it, tracking keeps me on track. So, I need to make a point of tracking everything I eat and drink.

Try to get some strength training in.  This one will be a hard one, simply because of time. And if I have to choose one or the other, I’ll be lacing up my running shoes and heading out the door. But, I need to add something extra in if I can.

Lose 5 pounds.  I don’t normally like to set specific weight-loss goals because I usually ending up short of it or gaining. But a 5 pound loss over a months time is not drastic and is totally possible if I stick to healthy choices and my other goals.

Do you have any goals for April? I’d love to hear them?

 

 

 

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on April 1, 2012, in event, goals, recipe, run, running, track and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like your goals. I really need to come up with some of mine. i know setting goals are a good thing. I just need to do it. I would really like to do at least one organized run this month. I need a new shirt.

