Sunday morning in the kitchen

Yesterday I found a recipe on Skinnytaste for Southwestern Black Bean Salad and could not wait to try it. I went to the store this morning to get all the goodies. It was very easy to make. I searched for the recipe that appealed to my taste the most on this. I found several. One thing for sure, it had to have fresh cilantro in it. I love the smell and flavor of it. Some recipes do not call for it. One thing I did leave out this time around was the avocado. I love avocado but wanted to do without this first time. You can find the recipe here: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/06/southwestern-black-bean-salad.html .

This is a very fresh, colorful treat. I am a chips and salsa girl so this is a nice twist. I will also have this on fish, baked potatoes, and more. It could be used in so many ways!

Here is how it came out…

So colorful!

I also had the urge to make something sweet and decided fudge brownies sounded yummy. To make the skinny version of them, I simply replaced the the egg, oil, and water ingredients with a can of pure pumpkin puree. Doing this also makes them super moist.  How do these look?

Mmmmmmmm

What are you making on this fabulous Sunday?

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in delicious, food, skinnytaste and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Mm all that looks so good!!! I make my brownies w/black beans and it also makes them super moist and fudgey. Drain the black beans from the can, rinse them and the can off, then put the beans back in the can. Fill the can (w/beans in it) w/water and dump the water/beans in a blender. Puree until completely smooth. Pour in mixing bowl w/dry brownie mix… Mix completely then pour in coated baking pan and cook to package directions. Love theses brownies! Thanks for sharing your version… Might have to try it with pumpkin sometime!

