Super easy pulled pork

I’ve been wanting to make pulled pork for a longgggg time now. I’ve either been afraid to try it or did not have the time. Today was the day. I decided not to be afraid of it and I found a super easy recipe.

Hubby and I are big fans of Bulls-Eye Carolina BBQ sauce. It is a mustard base sauce and as the label says, it’s tangy, sweet, and spicy. I had the brilliant idea this morning to see if the Bulls-Eye website had any recipes for pulled pork. And they did. And miraculously, it was using the Carolina sauce.

The recipe called for 4 ingredients. 1 bottle of Carolina BBQ sauce, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 4 tsp. hot sauce, 1/2 tsp. paprika, and 1 bonesless shoulder pork (3 lbs). I chose to leave out the hot sauce as hubby is not a fan of spicy. It was also my first time buying shoulder pork and I was pleased to find that it is not expensive.

So, the recipe as I made it is as follows:

1 1/4 bottle Carolina BBQ sauce

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp. paprika

3 1/4 lb. boneless pork shoulder

Mix the sauce, sugar, and paprika together. Put pork in slow cooker and pour sauce mixture over it. Cook on low for 8-10 hours.

The aroma of the sauce cooking quickly filled the kitchen. It smelled SO good! At the 8 hour mark, I checked it and found that it was easily pulled apart with a fork. I took it out, pulled it all apart, and put it back in the slow cooker and mixed it with the sauce. I cooked it on low for another 25 minutes.

I can’t even begin to tell you how tender it was. It almost fell apart just looking at it. The sauce and brown sugar were the perfect mixture and complemented each other very well. I definitely chose an easy recipe going into this, but there wasn’t a darn thing wrong with it. It had the flavor we love and it was so incredibly tender. I *might* try and make my own sauce from scratch next time. Maybe. This might be hard to top for easy and delicious.

Here is how it looked when it was all done…. Hubby had his on a bun, I just ate mine with a fork. De-lish!

Homemade pulled pork

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in delicious, food, recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Super easy pulled pork.

Comments are closed.

