Sunday Stuff {and an upcoming giveaway!}

The last few weekends, I’ve posted on Sundays about delicious recipes I was trying or that I enjoyed. This Sunday, I am actually not doing any cooking. I still have yet to grocery shop and I’m contemplating not even doing it today. I chose to go for a walk this morning instead, and hubby joined me which rarely happens and is a real treat when it does. Later, we are going out to dinner for my mom’s birthday, so I won’t be cooking dinner. Since I’m not cooking anything today, I decided I would share the recipe for Whoopie Pies that I tried last Sunday.

First things first, here are a few pictures from last night. My mom and I went to The Beach Boys concert at The Straz Center in Tampa. It was a fun concert, great music, and my mom had a great time as part of her birthday weekend.

This morning, we started the day with a walk over the Memorial Causeway to Clearwater Beach. I don’t think I will every tire of the views here in Florida. Between the beautiful sunrises and sunsets, the water, and more, we are so lucky to live here. It’s easy to take it for granted, but how could the scenery for a walk get any better thank this? I even took a panoramic photo with a nifty app on my iPhone.

 

 

{upcoming giveaway!}

I am VERY close to hitting 100 followers on Twitter and expect it to happen this week. When it does, I will be hosting a giveaway here for Love Grown Foods Oat Clusters & Love. I’ve had the privelege to try them out thanks to a giveaway I won on a great blog I follow. I was then contacted by Love Grown Foods and they sent me a box of goodies to share. So I now have the chance to have a giveaway of my own and spread the LOVE. Be sure to watch for the upcoming post on that!

And finally, here is the Whoopie Pie recipe, which is taken from the Best Darn Food Ever! WW cookbook. If you happen to have it, it’s on page 221.

Whoopie Pies – 5 Points Plus value – Makes 18*

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 cup low-fat (1%) milk
  • 3/4 cup marshmallow creme

1. Place oven racks in upper and lower thirds of oven and preheat overn to 425F

2. Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in small bowl

3. With electric mixer on medium speed, beat suagr, butter, oil, and egg white in medium bowl until light and fluffy. Reduce mixer speed to low. Beat in flour mixture just until blended then stir in milk just until blended. Drop batter by spoonfuls onto large ungreased baking sheets, making total of 36 cookies.

4. Bake until tops of cookies spring back when lightly pressed, 5-7 minutes. Let cool completely on baking sheets on wire racks.

5. Spoon 2 teaspoons marshmallow creme on bottoms of 18 cookies. Cover with remaining cookies.

Here’s a reminder of how fabuslous they came out….

Mmmmmm

HAPPY SUNDAY!!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on May 6, 2012, in giveaway, Mommy, Sunday, walk, WW and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, truly breath taking views – I’m so jealous!! LOL I think if I lived somewhere like that, it would be hard to keep me indoors for long.

