It’s the little things…

I went to The Fresh Market on Tuesday to pick up some Love Grown Foods Granola. I had not been there in a long time, specifically since before my dad passed away. He LOVED that store. He would go there and come home with bags of goodies and treats. I had been there with him many times and one year, we even did our shopping there before Thanksgiving dinner.

My dad was famous for buying sweets and snacks that he know I liked. I used to ask him PLEASE do not buy me that stuff because I can’t NOT eat it when you do. But he just loved to do it and didn’t stop. I love that he knew what I enjoyed. One thing we both liked were the Raspberry Pillow Cookies from their bakery. OH. MY. GOSH. They were so good. Soft and chewy and sweet. He would buy a box of them and we would share them, of course.

So when I stopped in for my granola and passed the display with the boxes of Raspberry Pillow Cookies, it caught me off guard and I stopped. It’s funny how the smallest, silliest thing can bring a wave of emotion over me. Really? A box of cookies? It was just so my dad and I had to stop and think about it.

It’s been almost a year and a half since we lost Daddy and while it’s still hard and I miss him every single day, the pain is not as overwhelming as it was in the days, weeks, and months afterward. After it happened, I went around numb and cried alot. I don’t think I can even explain the hurt and sadness I felt aftwerwards. And when I saw those cookies, I had a overwhelming moment of missing him. It’s the little things…

So, I bought a box of the cookies. If Daddy had been there, he would have bought them for me. They taste as amazingly wonderful as I remember. I had one for me and then one for Daddy. And when I got home, since I can’t seem to find my willpower at the moment, I put each cookie in a ziploc bag and put them in the freezer. If I want one, I’ll have to wait for it to thaw out and it will be worth it.

I love and miss you Daddy…

Oh so heavenly…

All packaged up!

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Daddy, miss you and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m so sorry for the loss of your dad… my dad and I also share a love for those same raspberry pillow cookies. He still keeps a secret stash of them at home. Thanks for sharing this today – you sharing your memories brought about my own memories and I’ve smiled because of it!

