Meal Planning

I decided to take stock of what we have in our kitchen and see what kind of meal planning I can do for the rest of the week and even into the next week. When I grocery shop and I buy chicken or ground beef, I package it up into single servings and freeze it. I buy boneless, skinless chicken breasts and freeze one per bag. I split up the ground beef into single-serving patties and freeze them. Depending on how I need the ground beef for whatever it is I’m making, I can either cook it as a patty or crumble it up. Over time, it starts to add up in my freezer and I am pleasantly surprised at what I have.

After taking stock today, this is what we have both fresh and frozen:

  • 17 chicken breasts
  • 3 pork chops
  • 2 Italian sausage links
  • 4 pcs. Tilapia
  • 3 hamburger patties
  • 1 new York Strip Steak

The chicken, considering I make 2-3 pieces at a time depending on what I’m making and if I am making extra for lunch the next day, could make 5 1/2 meals alone! The pork chops is 1 meal, the sausage links are 1 meal, the tilapia is 4 meals, the hamburger will likely be 2 meals, and the steak is a bonus for hubby. Technically, we have enough for 13 dinners.

After checking to see what meats/poultry/fish we have, I went through the freezer to see what frozen veggies and foods we have:

  • 1/2 box fried shrimp
  • 1 bag hushpuppies
  • Chicken and Vegetable Steamer meal (for 2)
  • Garlic Chicken Steamer meal (for 2)
  • 1/2 bag sweet potato fries
  • Chicken rice
  • Brown Rice
  • Brown and Wild Rice Medley
  • Garden vegetable medley
  • Mixed veggies
  • 2 bags broccoli
  • Asian medley

Next up were fresh veggies and cheeses:

  • 3 baking potatoes
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 zucchini
  • Onion
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Mild cheddar cheese

In our pantry, we have the following:

  • 1 can Italian diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans black beans
  • 1 1/2 box penne pasta
  • 1 box angel hair pasta
  • 1 bag No-Yolk egg noodles
  • 1 jar spaghetti sauce
  • Soft taco dinner kit
  • Italian bread crumbs
  • Panko bread crumbs
  • Carolina BBQ sauce
  • Turkey gravy
  • Mexican rice
  • Teriyaki noodles

All this, while possibly boring to you, means A LOT of meal options for us over the next two weeks and hopefully, a much lighter grocery bill! And while not all of these items are super healthy, they can be made healthier by how I prepare them. So many options for yummy meals in our house!

Do you meal plan? Do you use any specific websites to enter your ingredients to get ideas?

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in dinner, food, lunch, meal planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I do try to meal plan, just dinners. I will do the same thing…look in the freezer and go from there. I should try to remember to look in the pantry to! Things tend to get stuck in there and then get forgotten.

  2. I use to plan meals when my girls were young and lived at home, now that it’s just me and hubby not so much

  3. I don’t really meal plan ahead but think about what we haven’t had in a while. I like to cook internationally inspired meals.

    It sounds like you have a lot of great ingredients at your disposal!

  4. You are a rockstar! I really need to do a better job of keeping stock of what’s in my kitchen. As we prepare to move I’m realizing how much we’ll have to toss (or probably give to friends) and it’s depressing. I did used to meal plan and still try to. I just use an excel spreadsheet. I think once we’re settled in to our new home, I’ll get back in to it!

