Half-Marathon Training

My next – and second – half-marathon will be in November. It is my goal to do the Lady Speed Stick Women’s Half Marathon in St. Petersburg on Sunday November 18, 2012.

This course is very similar to the Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon I did on February, my first. I can still remember that day so vividly and I literally had a runner’s high for days afterwards. I laughed, cried, ran, and walked my way through those 13.1 miles, finishing in 3:11:33, a good 13+ minutes before my estimated 3:25 finish.

The moment I finished, I knew I had to do another. I have my sights set on the Women’s Half with hopes of beating my previous time, even by just a little bit.

The trick now is to pick a training plan. From what I see, training plans vary from 12-19 weeks, perhaps longer. I like the run/walk method of Jeff Galloway as I don’t know that I can ever be a full-time runner. It is hard for me. I push myself and try my hardest, but it does not come easy for me. Honestly, while so many people finish in the 2+ hour mark (and they are all my heros), I would be happy finishing my next one in just under 3:00. As in 2:59 would make me a happy girl.

Here’s my problem… Summer is here. And summer in Florida SUCKS. It’s hot and humid. I can walk out my front door in the morning and instantly start sweating. The thought of running in it is very overwhelming. Running in the heat is so different than running in the cooler weather. I just can’t do it for long. If I do a 19-week training plan, that puts me starting mid-July (YIKES!). If I do a 12-week training plan, it’s early -September. I did not follow a training plan for my first, but if I want to set a PR, I know I need to train for this one. So… what should I do? Also, what kind of strenth training should I incorporate?

I welcome advice from runners and any input you might have. I know there are books out there, but I love to heard first-hand experience. Thanks so much!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on May 31, 2012, in half-marathon, run, training, walk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This will be my first 1/2! I’m learning to train in hot conditions, as that’s how I heard it was last year!

  2. I can’t run without having pee running down my leg……………….lol So I think anyone who can run is amazing and oh so much more fitter then this short fat woman………..lol

  3. For my first half marathon (The Women’s Half last year) I basically followed a Hal Higdon plan, which is twelve weeks. For my other two half marathons (The RnR and the Iron Girl this year) I made up my own plan roughly based on that first one. I just work backwards from the race. I like my longest run before the half to be 12 miles, then have a 10 mile and an 8 mile taper long run the two weeks before the race. So, one week before the race my long run is 8 miles. Two weeks before my long run is 10 miles. Three weeks before my long run is 12 miles. I just work backwards from there deducting one mile each week. I also do two shorter runs throughout the week (usually one four miles and one five miles). I never hit my training plans perfectly, but this plan works for me. Good luck…I hope I’ll be running the WHM with you. I’m already registered 🙂

  4. Funny! My post today is pretty close to this one. I think most of us FL runners have the same sentiments about summer. Ack.

