National Running Day 2012

Today is National Running Day. I’ve been hearing about it leading up to today and I was determined to get a run in today, even if just a mile, just to say I did it. And I did.

Earlier today at work, I went on to http://www.runningday.org/ and created my badge in honor of National Running Day. If you are friends me with on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, you may have seen it. How fun is this? I love my statement about running and boy, is it ever true.

NRD 2012 nm

In honor of today, the day that runners everywhere can declare their passion for running, I thought about mine. I am what I consider to be an unlikely runner. I used to swear I would only run if I was being chased. No lie. It was not for me. Several years ago, I slowly worked my way up to running as part of a twice-a-day workout when I was strictly following WW and in the process of 30 pounds. (I am still not sure how I was able to work out twice a day!) Over time, I stopped running and went back to walking – I can’t remember why I did this, but I think even though I was running then, I didn’t love it like I do now.

Last year, I decided I wanted to be a runner. I was approaching 40, I needed to do something a little different, and with the exception of a good pair of running shoes, it’s a relatively cheap sport – I just needed the time and desire to do it. That turned into me running my first half-marathon in February. You can read about it here – I love to go back and read this post. It makes me smile. Another fun post to read is this one – I wrote it the day after.

The minute I finished my first half, I knew I would do another and I can’t wait to do the Women’s Half Marathon in St. Pete in November.

I also ran the Gasparilla 5+3K in March and really enjoyed that as well (which you can read about here. I was bitten by the racing bug.

I have not run in several weeks. But today, I was determined to get one mile in. ONE MILE. Since the weather was icky and I didn’t need any excuses, I jumped on the treadmill and ran that mile. I am not a fan of the treadmill, but if it was how I needed to get that mile in, I was fine with it. Something wonderful happened on the treadmill. I ran a mile. As in I ran the WHOLE mile, not walking for any part of it. I ran 1.0 mile in 11:24. I am damn proud of myself.

I let life get in the way too much and sometimes I find any excuse not to get out there and do it. Yes, I’m busy, and yes I bring work home, and yes, there are 10 other things I could or should be doing while I’m running, but if I got on that treadmill and ran a mile every day that would be something. There shouldn’t be any excuse not to run one mile if I can’t do more.

I never thought I would love running. It really is cheaper than therapy. I may not be fast or have the best form, but I do it. And I love it.

116038127868691814_H3qcYqXf_c

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on June 6, 2012, in National Running Day, run, running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Of course the day that’s National running day is when I took a rest day lol and did #p90x instead.

    I do love running now because it calms me and makes me feel powerful. Things have really changed since a few years ago!

  2. I think people who run are great I can’t run not without having pee running down my leg…..lol
    I do like to listen to music nice and loud and lose myself in the music………….

  3. Love it! I agree, I used to hate it. But now, I cant live without it!

