Sunday in the kitchen

What a weekend this has been! With all the rain we had last week, I took advantage of the sunshine this weekend and got caught up on some work, determined not to start next week any more behind than we had to. Thankfully, hubby was willing and ready to help out, as he always is. We completed a project in Plant City yesterday and then this morning, we drove to Cape Coral and Sarasota for a couple projects. A lot of driving, including heading both south and north on my least favorite bridge, the Sunshine Skyway. It’s a pretty bridge and I always seem to take pictures of it, but it just freaks me out. Here are pictures of it from today…

skyway south 061012

skyway north 1

skyway north 2

When we finally got home just after 1, hubby was working out in the garage for a bit, so I sat outside with Blue and Ozzie, despite the heat. They didn’t seem to care – look how happy they were!

blue ozzie 061012

I skipped yoga in the park with the wonderful ladies of the Tampa Bay Lady Bloggers so I could have an evening at home with hubby and make a yummy dinner. I am bummed that I missed the meet-up, but after the craziness this weekend, I really just wanted to be home before the craziness starts again tomorrow.

For dinner, I made oven fried chicken – a variation of a WW recipe in their Best Darn Food Ever cookbook. Their version calls for buttermilk (reduced fat), but I hate to buy buttermilk for one recipe and not finish it. Plus I am not really a fan of buttermilk. It’s a bit too heavy for me. So, I just use fat free or reduced fat milk. Their version also calls for bone-in chicken breasts, sage, and rosemary. My version is a little different.

Here is what you need for my version:

  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 cup Plain Panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 tbsp. Parmesan cheese
  • Paprika
  • Basil

Cover a cookie sheet in foil and spray with non-stick spray (I use butter flavor).

Mix the salt, pepper, breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese, paprika, and basil in a large bowl. On the paprika and basil, I like A LOT. I love the flavors and the more you use, it adds a little color.

chicken dinner 1

chicken dinner 3

chicken dinner 2

Dip the chicken breasts in the milk and coat with the breading mixture, covering both sides thoroughly. Set on cookie sheet.

chicken dinner 4

Bake in oven for approximately 30 minutes. Spray tops of chicken breasts with non-stick spray (butter flavor) and cook another 15 minutes. This will help it brown.

The chicken comes out very tender and juicy, full of flavor. You can serve just about any side with it. Tonight we had baked potatoes and white corn. For the two of us, I make 3 pieces and hubby will take a piece for lunch the next day. It reheats nicely in the microwave.

chicken dinner 5

Thanks for reading!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on June 10, 2012, in blue, dinner, Ozzie, recipe, Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh that chicken sounds nice I do crumbed chicken myself but then I love chicken………..
    Blue and Ozzie do look happy…………

  2. We missed you yesterday. I love that bridge too. It is definitely one of the prettier landmarks in the Tampa Bay area.

  3. Hey Nanci….You have a great way with words. Thanks for the recipe. I make a similar one but mariante the chicken in low fat Italian dressing. Yum! The pups looked quite contented to just be with you! I am glad I am not the only one who craves some down time. After a hectic week full of people, I sometimes feel like a hermit. Happy to be on the couch, in my jammies with hubby and a movie or book.

