Saturday in the kitchen…

Happy Saturday everyone! Since my blog schedule is all out of whack this week, I figured it wouldn’t hurt if I did my “in the kitchen” post on Saturday instead of Sunday. Tomorrow we will be celebrating my hubby’s birthday and Father’s Day so I won’t be doing much cooking.

After the crazy week I had, I wanted I wanted to make something new and yummy this weekend. I decided to make scones, specifically a recipe in a book I am currently reading for a book club. The book is called A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. Her blog is called Orangette and you can find it here. (I will discuss this book in more detail in a later post, after our book group get-together.)

a homemade life

It’s actually written by a blogger-turned-author and the recipes in it are to die for. I am so used to reading recipes that are healthy or low-fat or low carb and these are just wonderful, no worries about the calories, delicious recipes. And since I love scones, I knew when I saw the recipe, I had to try it, even it was a modified version.

The recipe in the book is for Scottish Scones With Lemon and Ginger. I decided to modify it and try something a little more simply the first time around, since I have never made scones before. I left out the lemon and ginger and just added cinnamon. Since hubby doesn’t like scones (i.e., has never had them before, therefore he thinks he doesn’t like them), I am sharing them with my SIL Jenna. She likes cinnamon, and so do I, so there you go!

Here is the recipe as I made it, which varies from the actual recipe in the book. If you’d like the actual recipe as it is written in the book with lemon and ginger, I can reference it for you. If you happen to already have this book, it’s on page 174.

  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons cold salted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half, plus more for glazing
  • 1 large egg
  • Cinnamon
  • Brown sugar

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Using your hands, rub the butter into flour mixture, squeezing and pinching with your fingertips until mixture resembles a coarse meal and there are no butter lumps bigger than a pea. Add the sugar and cinnamon (to taste, I like a lot!), and whisk to incorporate.

Pour 1/2 cup half-and-half into a small bowl or measuring cup and add the egg. Beat with a fork to mix well. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture, and stir gently just to combine. The dough will look dry and shaggy, and there may be unincorporated flour at the bottom of bowl. Don’t worry about that. Using your hands, squeeze and press the dough into a rough mass. Turn the dough, and any excess flour, out onto a cutting board or countertop, and press and gather and knead it until it just comes together. Don’t overwork the dough,  ideally do not knead more than 12 times.  There may be some excess flour that is not absorbed, but it doesn’t matter. As soon as the dough holds together, pat it into a rough circle about 1 inch thick. Cut the circle into 8 wedges.

Place the wedges on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Pour a splash of half-and-half into a small bowl. Using a pastry brush, gently brush the tops of the scones with a thin coat to glaze. I sprinkled brown sugar on the top of half of them. Bake for 10 to 14 minutes, or until pale golden. Transfer them to a wire rack to cool slightly, and serve warm, with butter, if you like.

Store in airtight container if you plan to eat in a day or two. For longer storage, seal in a heavy plastic bag and freeze them. Before serving, bring to room temperature. Either way, reheat them briefly in a 300 degree oven. Makes 8 medium scones.

I failed to take pictures of each step as I made this picture (shame on me!), but I have pictures prior to them going in the oven.

scones ready to cook

                                                         Ready to go in the oven!

scones out of the oven

                                                             Hot out of the oven.

scones finished

                                                                 Ready to serve.

scone finished close up

                                                        Warm, yummy goodness.                     

scone buttered taste

                                                       Served warm, with butter.

These came out of oven every bit as delicious as they look. In my opinion, warm is definitely the way to serve them. I imagine they are fabulous for breakfast with a hot cup of coffee. I plan to make them again and my options are limitless. I would love to try them with blueberries or raspberries, or orange or cranberry.

They were really very easy to make. I hope you’ll try them!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in blog, book, book club, recipe, TBLB and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. YUM! I will definitely be making these soon. I love to bake. I’m a bad TBLB and I haven’t even gotten the book this month has been so busy, so I may have to sit out of the Book Club meeting this month.

  2. They do look nice I love scones always have my mum use to make them all the time……

  3. Oh dang! I was so excited going down the list of ingredients…”got it, got it, got it….” Just used my last two eggs for dinner! Bummer….was so close to having scones tonight!!! 😉

    • I was excited that the ingredients are pretty basic. You need to go out and buy eggs so you can have nice, warm scones for breakfast!

