Sunday in the kitchen

I can hardly contain my excitement on this post. This evening, I made a dish I’ve been wanting to make for awhile. I’ve been looking up recipes for this and honestly, they’ve all seem a little complicated. It finally occurred to me that I don’t have to follow a recipe exactly, just use it as a guideline. And after I asked hubby yesterday if he thought he might like this dish and he said yes, I was so excited to make it today.

What did I make? Paella, or my version of it… I know this is a very loose version of Paella and is nowhere near the true dish, but it came out fantastic. I know this, because as I type this, hubby is sitting next to me eating a second helping of it.

True Paella has chorizo sausage in it and I was concerned it would be too spicy for hubby. He doesn’t like spicy foods (the total opposite of me), so I wanted to make a version he would enjoy. Hubby suggested I use mild Italian sausage, which we know he loves. Good idea, honey! It worked out very well.

So, here is my recipe…

  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 links mild Italian sausage
  • 1 bag Vigo yellow rice (serves 8)
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1/4 White onion, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 red pepper, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • Paprika
  • Minced garlic
  • Adobo powder
  • Olive oil

Cook chicken breasts in olive oil. I like to cook them whole and then cut them up about halfway through. I find it easier to cut then when it is raw.

In another pan, cook sausage in olive oil. When it is done cooking, slice into bit-sized pieces.

In a large saucepan, cook rice as per instructions on package. This will take about 20 minutes to cook. I turned it off while it was still on the moist side as I wanted to keep the dish as moist as possible.

When the chicken is almost done, add paprika (1 teaspoon), adobo powder (I used about a tablespoon of it), and add onion and red pepper. Continue to cook until onions are almost clear. Add minced garlic (about 1 tablespoon) and cook for about 5 more minutes.

In a small saucepan, bring 2 cups water to a boil and add bouillon cube to dissolve.

In a large skillet, combine rice, chicken, peppers, onion, sausage, and chicken bouillon. Cover and heat on medium for about 10 minutes until bouillon is just about gone. Again, I didn’t want this to be too dry.

This made enough for probably 6 people, so we definitely have leftovers.

I am very happy with how this came out and I don’t think would change anything the next time. I would, however, like to add shrimp as well.

paella 070812 1

Fixins’ for my version of Paella. The beer isn’t
in the recipe but it was nice to drink while I cooked it!

 

paella 070812 2

Chicken, peppers, and onion cooking…

 

paella 070812 3

Mmmmmm Italian sausage…

 

paella 070812 4

I can’t even tell you how delicious this smells!

 

paella 070812 5

Ready to eat!

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

About thiscrazylifeofmine

I am a 40-year old wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, and dog-mom. I love running, walking, scrapbooking, reading, TV, Weight Watchers, spending time with the family, and being at home.

Posted on July 8, 2012, in dinner, recipe, Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My Sunday was a pretty lazy one did a little bit of blogging in the morning but then my brain just didn’t want to work so I moved to my armchair and did nothing for the rest of the day except cough and cough till my chest hurt………………..the chicken and sausage dish looks nice

